you're reading...
Ceramics, Pottery

Wheelthrown Jugs and Vases

Wheelthrown  Jugs and Vases

It’s been a long time since I wrote in this blog…. 2020 has certainly been a mind altering experience! Prior to that my posting was slowing due to being so busy with the ClayMotion shop I have mentioned in previous posts … so the combination of both made 2020 an almost complete write off! But it’s not finished as yet.

Due to the ongoing social distancing requirements that will be in place most certainly until a vaccine is rolled out, which I suspect will be quite a while, I am unable to run classes at the shop-studio at full capacity. I haven’t for a while, and, as i said, i can’t  see that changing for months.

So, I have made the difficult decision to class the shop and relocate back to my home studio, where I can still accommodate socially distanced classes, but having lower overheads, will be more viable.

Having made the decision I now need to focus on the positive outcomes, and one of them is that I can now dedicate more time to my own art practice and post more regularly here on my blog. I also plan to attach a shopping cart to this site and sell my artwork online from here, rather than via a third party such as Etsy. During lockdown I have also been drawing more, so might share some of that process and results too.

So for my first post in months I would like to share some wheelthrown jugs and vases I threw on the pottery wheel back in February. These will be posted in the online shop, but if you are interested and don’t want to wait – great Christmas pressies – let me know and payment options can be organised via email.

Wheelthrown stoneware Jugs and Vases by Dawn Whitehand

They were thrown using BRT clay which is a course clay, but has a beautiful, speckled, textural body that is also gorgeous with a glaze over the top. I do always like to leave some of the body unglazed to feature the clay surface – that’s kind of the purpose of using it in the first place.

Following is a video of me throwing one of these vessels and also a video of the finished vessels.

Enjoy, and I look forward to sharing more with you soon on a much more regular basis!

Be sure to also follow me on Facebook and Instagram to follow along with my creative journey.

Discussion

One thought on “Wheelthrown Jugs and Vases

  1. I just watched the video and I am just amazed. Your hands are so steady as you mold the shape. You might have said this, but how do you get two different colors/textures on the surface? I am such a novice at this, but am mesmerized at the process and the end product.

    Posted by humoringthegoddess | November 30, 2020, 7:55 am

Leave a Reply

Follow Blog via Email

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Blog Archives

Blog Stats

  • 64,564 hits
Creative Commons License
This work by Dawn Whitehand is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial-NoDerivs 3.0 Unported License.

Discover more from Dawn Whitehand: Visual Artist

Subscribe now to keep reading and get access to the full archive.

Continue reading